top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Michelle: The Servants

The dream took place at the house I grew up in, but I did not recognize it as my house. My family and I were servants there for a wealthy family. Anne and I were playing upstairs with the master of the house's children. We were playing Candy Land, but the children were playing it wrong. Every time I tried to correct them, they would shriek at me. Since Anne and I agreed to play with them, they snuck us food- chicken tenders dipped in ranch or honey mustard! After each round of Candy Land that we completed, they would give us each a tender. It tasted delicious, but I thought it was ridiculous that Anne and I had to play to eat. Suddenly we all heard a commotion downstairs. The children ran out of the room, leaving Anne and I alone with the food. We quickly stuffed our mouths full with the rest of the tenders (sounds accurate for us) and bolted downstairs to see what was the matter. I don't know what happened, but Marie ran toward us. She was wearing a long colonial dress and a bonnet- I realized we all were. She yelled at us to get outside because "we are leaving NOW!" Anne and I darted outside, but I realized I was barefoot. We attempted to run towards the woods in the back of the house, but the ground was covered in sharp thorns. I ran back inside to get my boots, constantly worrying that the master of the house would find me. I managed to find my boots, put them on, then dart out the door, ripping the bottom of my dress to about my knees so that I could sprint better.


Anne was waiting for me outside, but Marie and my dad were gone. We heard men yelling for us in the distance, so we headed towards the woods. The entrance to the woods was located on a rocky ledge about shoulder-height. The border of the woods was being guarded by families of grizzly bears and ravenous-looking weasels. Anne and I tried to make a plan to avoid these creatures, until we heard growling behind us. We looked back to find a pack of wolves charging at us! As they got closer, the wolf pack merged into a loud, charging elephant. We sprinted toward the ledge to run away. I hoisted Anne up and over then tried to jump up myself, ultimately failing and leaving my legs dangling in reach of the charging elephant. Anne swiftly pulled me up right as the elephant reached us, causing it to loudly slam into the ledge and gore the earth with its tusks. The commotion caused the earth to crack and loosen, scaring off the grizzlies and causing the weasels to become trapped in loosened mud. They continued to gnash their teeth at us, but they couldn't move. Anne and I looked around, then noticed a figure running towards us. We saw the dress and knew it was Marie, but something seemed wrong with her face. When she got closer, I realized she looked like a giant, human-sized weasel in a dress!

"What happened to you!?" I gasped. She couldn't speak anymore, but pointed to the weasels. I understood this to mean their bite turns you into a weasel person. My dad ran up to us, also a giant weasel-person, and signaled for us to run. I heard the screaming male voices of those looking for us and booked it further into the woods. We had to scale another large ledge to get to the other side of the woods. My parents hoisted Anne and I up, then scurried up themselves. We found an enormous, slide-like chute that we slid down. We were rocketed out of the woods and ended up at a large white house on a hill. Somehow Anne and I were separated from our parents. We climbed the hill, walked around a small brick wall circling the house, then ended up on a street. Anne and I collapsed to the ground, exhausted from our trek through the woods. When we looked up there were two children staring at us. One of the children was a little girl on a trike, who was looking at us curiously but looked friendly. To our horror, the other child was one of the master's children! <He looked like Remy Buxaplenty from Fairly Oddparents!> "We thought we could find you here," he said smugly. He was just about to scream loudly to signal where we were when I woke up!



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page