top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Anne: Let them eat cake!

Michelle and I are in our childhood neighbor's yard. We're hiding from something and run down the street to find a long line of people. The only people we know are a guy from our high school TH (KR's husband), CB, and KR's mom. We try to blend in. It's TH's birthday apparently. He lines us up against a wall for a game. How fun! The area is strange. Picture a giant concrete wall like you might find at a stadium and in front of us are row of metal benches and a maroon railing in front that leads to steps. I think my brain is trying to create a version of our high school stadium maybe??




TH hands us chapsticks with numbers on them. Out loud I say how weird of a way that is to tell us the order we're going in for this game. KR's mom laughs at me and I say "no, I'm not being funny. It's very strange [even this was too much for dream me!]."


The game is like TopGolf but with a twist. You set up and use a club to get a ball like top golf but the tee is a slice of cake. If you hit the ball over the railing, you get to keep/eat the cake. No one is following the order which instantly annoys me. It's finally my turn though!


"Hey, what are the odds of you having left handed clubs?" I ask TH.

"Good actually! If you hand this card to my buddy, he'll go down and bring them up for you!" he responds.


In the most ME fashion I instantly go "no! It's totally fine! I'll just make do. Really! I don't want to be an inconvenience!" I'm now aware that I'm wearing high stilettos for whatever reason and his friends make a comment about how I'm about to hit the ball in heels. I'm slipping around on the hard surface and trying my best. I attempt to hit the ball and it goes absolutely no where.


"Welp. That'll do it." I say. Then I woke up!



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page