top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Anne: Clear Eyes. Full Hearts.

I'm back in high school and I'm at a meeting with a few people from my graduating class. MA and Hunter C really stand out. Landry from Friday Night Lights is also there and a bunch of other dudes. We're at a makeshift football field. There are soccer goals pushed to the sides and at the endzones, almost as if it's multipurpose for all the sports. There aren't any bleachers. Two concrete buildings are at either end that I'm assuming are locker rooms. The whole field is surrounded by trees which is pleasing but also really dangerous, I imagine.


A middle-aged man comes out and is wearing an "East Lions" cap (the team from Friday Night Lights). He tells the whole group that as a mission for diversity and inclusivity, I will be starting as the first female quarterback at Dillon Lion's game that night. The dudes cheer in celebration but I am stunned and extremely nervous. I know absolutely nothing about football. MA assures me that he'll walk me through the plays. Plus since I'm a girl, maybe the opposing team won't be as aggressive towards. He just tells me that I need to catch the ball and make a run for it (I mean I guess that is the basis of football?).


I run to one of the locker rooms. It reminds me of the bathroom at our community pool, Tranquilan. I can tell I'm running late but I have no idea where my uniform is or how to put the pads on. Landry knocks on the main door and I tell him to come in and help. He shows me how to put the pads on and ties them (is that actually a thing or is this my brain's attempt at pretending to know football?). He hands me his helmet and tells me to just use his and avoid tackles. I'm super nervous because I'm worried I'll get seriously injured for something I didn't even sign up for in the first place. It gets worse because now the game is delayed because I was running late. I sprint on the field and let them know I'm here and ready. Then I woke up!



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page