top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Michelle: The Mermaid

Updated: Sep 8, 2020

I had a dream within my dream that a woman came to me and told me to meet her on the shores of a beach. I wake up in the dream and am at my childhood home. I leave my house to go to the beach (it is located at the waterfront of the river that is actually in my hometown). When I get there, I see a gigantic rock. There's another guy at the beach with me, only he's climbing up on the rock (he looks like the hacker from House of Cards).

I pull myself up on the rock and start to climb to the top. When I get to where I can't climb anymore, I hug the rock with my body (like a sloth) to keep myself in place. Suddenly the rock begins to talk, and a woman's head emerges from the top. She is enormous (think of the size of the statue in The Little Princess).

She looks down at the man and me and says, "You have seen my true form. I am a mermaid. We are not like you see in the movies." I look around and realize that I am sitting on her back and the man is clinging to her arm. The surface of her body is still made of rock, but I can see definable scales near the bottom half of her body tapering down to a rocky mermaid tail. Her head is normal (not made of rock) and beautiful, and she has flowing sandy brown hair with flowers in it. Her voice is gentle and sounds like its coming from everywhere, very ethereal and goddess-like. She says, "You are the only ones to see my true form. You are my only true friends. In a month I am to drift from this place throughout the ocean to a new location. This is how we mermaids actually travel. I would like for you two to see me off." We both agree to see her everyday until she has to leave. The dream skips time and I remember both the man and I sitting on the mermaid's shoulders, hugging each other and her and crying, sad that she has to leave us since we all have become such good friends. She tells us to come back the next day to see her off.


The dream cuts to the next day. I am back at my house and the man is coming to pick me up so we can go see our mermaid friend for the last time. I'm wearing a flowy white dress, bright orange eyeshadow all around my eyes, and red lipstick. My hair is down and has flowers in it like the mermaid's. I'm trying to leave, but Marie and Anne keep stopping me to ask where I'm going. I tell Anne that the "secret person" I've been visiting is a mermaid and that I must see her before she drifts through the ocean. Anne tries to help me leave, but Marie keeps stopping me, asking about the man I've been with. I remember her saying, "Does Michael know you're with him? Aren't you worried he's going to get angry?" I dismiss her and tell her I need to go when Michael pulls up to the house in his car. He gets out and immediately asks me about the man and where I've been going everyday. He tells me to stay at the house with him. I tell him that the man is a dear friend and repeat the same story I told Anne. He reluctantly lets me go (FINALLY!) so I rush outside, only to see the man driving off without me. I get flustered and run into the road, yelling and waving my hands wildly to get his attention. He sees me at the last minute and stops abruptly. He spins the car around wildly then does a sharp turn so that when he pulls back up to me the passenger side is facing me. I quickly get in the car then we speed off. I start to cry, praying we aren't too late to say goodbye to our mermaid friend. Then I woke up!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page