top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Michelle: Eek!otourism

Updated: Dec 14, 2020


I first remember little blips of images of beautiful landscapes, then "after" photos of these landscapes cleared and built on for industry and businesses. I remember images of forests that had been cleared away for strip malls and things like that. The word "ecotourism" kept coming to me, except instead of its actual definition I understood it to represent this harmful act of clearing away land for businesses and industry. I understood it to be an ugly thing and a major threat to the environment.

The dream cuts to me walking hand-in-hand with a man wearing a fancy suit. He kind of reminded me of Commander Waterford from The Handmaid's Tale. He is beaming with pride and leading me around the rooftop of a tall building. As I look out, I see we are in the middle of a lush rainforest, but all around the building the forest has been cleared away to make room for smaller buildings, shops, and even a large ferris wheel. All of these structures were made of a light-colored wood. I feel deep shame as I realize I am romantically-involved with this man and he built this place for me- THIS is the dreaded eco-tourism! I also get the sense that I am undercover and posing as his wife, hoping to take down his operation. My shame turns to a sneaky feeling and determination!


We are walking back into the building when my husband exclaims he has to go to the bathroom. We approach a concrete wall and I see 2 options- "men", which looks like a regular bathroom inside, and "gender neutral", which was full of colorful streamers and balloons and packed full of people. My husband enters the men's room, but I choose to wait outside to avoid the crowd. I lean against the wall, waiting for my husband, when I hear someone call out to me, "Hey Michelle! Are you just going to stand there or are you going to say hi!?" I look over and see a boy from my high school, DM, waving me over. I walk up to him and he warmly introduces me to two other boys who he says are his roommates. He starts going on about our high school reunion that's going on in the building. I think that it could be a good place to recruit people to my cause and buy myself some time to make a plan.

The reunion is being held in the "gender-neutral" bathroom (that explains the crowd and crazy decorations!). The room looks like an enormous locker room. DM follows me in and tells me he regretfully didn't talk about his wife enough to me and that he was sorry. I really didn't care and was more interested in my cause, so I try to lose him in the crowd. I feel stressed being in such a crowded, humid place and seeing people from my high school- what a nightmare! Still, I feel determined to find recruits.


The dream cuts to me in a small room with people I've recruited. I see DM, a girl named CB, and other people I don't recognize. There is also a guy there I understood to be a loser white rapper (he reminded me of the skinny guy in the "band" Insane Clown Posse). His name was Lil*Paddie, and he said he could get his two kids to join: Lil*Sweetie, his daughter, and Lil*Homie, his son (The asterisks were silent, but included in the names). I thought the names were ridiculous but was grateful for the help. Then I woke up!



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page