top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Michelle: A Strange Affair

I'm going to a dentist appointment that seems to be far off into the countryside. It's a birthday present from my parents, so I know the place is going to be really nice. Anne, Elizabeth, and Marie are all coming with me. When we get to the location of my appointment, I realize this is no ordinary dentist office. The place is an enormous Victorian-style mansion that is shades of cotton-candy blue, baby pink, and lilac. It's beautiful! I'm shocked that this is the place for my dentist appointment!



We go inside and it's just as beautiful and elegant as one would imagine. We're greeted by a beautiful lady who introduces herself as the dentist's wife. She is also the hygienist. She calls me "the guest of honor" and says my appointment is the most special one of the week. I notice there are other people in the house, as well. This makes sense, as this is supposedly a dentist office. The dentist's wife tells everyone to wait outside on the patio and asks me to follow her to the appointment room.


Unlike the rest of the house, the appointment room looks like a standard room at the dentist. I lay back in the chair and wait for the dentist. The dentist's wife begins to say odd things to me, such as "My husband can't wait to get in your mouth" and "He is very excited to work with you." Is it just me, or is she suggesting that her husband wants to sleep with me? I wonder if I'm misreading the situation and decide to remain quiet and polite. The wife compliments my teeth and says my family must love me very much to get me an appointment here. I agree, a bit less embarrassed now.



The dentist then walks in. He's VERY handsome and has a beautiful smile. He also begins to reiterate the same, oddly-suggestive things his wife had previously said. Now I'm feeling very strange and extremely embarrassed. I'm really starting to question if I'm reading the room correctly, so I try to sit quietly and smile politely as the dentist flirts with me in front of his wife.



The appointment ends and the wife beckons everyone into the appointment room. She tells us that we all are spending the night. I think to myself how strange this is, as I have never spent the night at a dentist office. She looks at me and says, "Tomorrow is your special appointment. For special appointments, the dentist will see only you!" I worry that the other guests will be pissed at me, as I assume they drove out here for an appointment. I also worry about what they will assume about me, since I'm getting such preferential treatment. Everyone is assigned to rooms to sleep in. There aren't enough rooms for all of us, so Anne, Elizabeth, me, and two young children (a boy and girl) from another family are told we're going to sleep outside. We're given little beds to sleep on. They look like Japanese futons.



We position our beds on the patio. It is difficult to get comfortable, as there is not enough space for all of us to lay down due to fencing around the patio. We're packed shoulder-to-shoulder, with the boy sleeping above us on a picnic table. At this point I also realize that I brought a dog to my appointment (a large German Shepherd) that is also trying to sleep next to me.


As we're all trying to fall asleep, I suddenly get an image of zombies coming over the hill. I don't see that many (maybe 4 or 5), but they're scary nonetheless! I yell for everyone to get up. As I say that, the zombies come into view and press their bodies against the fence, grabbing for us. The kids scream and are too scared to move. I run inside to get weapons. I yell for the other housemates to help with the zombies. I grab the nearest things I could find (broom, ink pen, and markers) and run back outside.



Now there is a hoard of 20 or so zombies at the fence, chomping and reaching for us. Everyone is outside trying to kill them. I hand everyone the "weapons" I procured, keeping the broom for myself. Unfortunately, when I try to jab a zombie's brain, the blunt broom handle just pushes the zombie's head slightly to the side, effectively doing nothing. I see Elizabeth and Anne stab and kill zombies with ink pens and markers to the eye, so I try to mimic that with my broom. Rather than stabbing through the eye, the broom handle knocks the zombie's head off! To my horror, the head is still alive and gnashing at guests' ankles! My dog runs over to the head, but it grows little crag legs and scuttles into the house.

I run into the house after the head, just in time to see the dentist's wife stomp on it. She tells us that we killed all the zombies and tells everyone to help clean up. As I'm cleaning, I look over and see my dog start to poop all over the carpet. I immediately run over and tell everyone I have to take the dog outside. I almost have to drag the dog by the leash, as it behaving horribly and won't listen to any of my commands. The wife looks annoyed at my dog's antics. I apologize profusely and tell her I'll clean up the mess as soon as I come back inside. She reassures me that everything is fine and says that her husband will join me outside.


I get to the front door to find the dentist waiting for me. He puts his arm around my shoulder and guides me outside. I let my dog loose to finish its business while I admire the yard. I look out to what looks like a vast forest, with rolling hills in the distance. I notice several other mansions on the property, all the same Victorian-style but of different sizes and colors. The dentist turns me to face him and repeats the same flirty things he said before. This time I think he senses my discomfort, as he says, "Don't worry. My wife said we can have an affair! You can live here with me. I'll even give you your own house!" I say, "Can it be a blue house?" He laughs and tells me I can have whatever color I want.



He gestures to a large mansion that is pale yellow, light blue, and lilac. I laugh and say "That's too big! That's a three-person house! I need a one-person house, otherwise I'll get scared!" He laughs and tells me I can have whatever I want. As we're walking back to the house, he gently grabs my arm and says, "So do you agree to the offer?" I tell him "Of course!" He laughs and asks me when I made the decision. I say "When we first met" and then wink. Then I woke up!


<Honestly, having my own blue mansion and getting to have an affair with a rich, handsome dentist doesn't sound too bad!>




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page