top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Michelle: A Crappy Cover-Up

<I woke up several times in the night after receiving my COVID-19 vaccine. This dream occurred after I had woken up then fallen back asleep, no doubt the result of a light fever and an evening of restlessness>

 

I am in a dorm room with a very bizarre layout. Upon entering, there is a small kitchenette and living room area. This entry leads into a large bedroom with two beds pushed against one wall. The bedroom has a ceiling as tall as that of a gymnasium, and the wardrobes in the room nearly touch the ceiling. At the end of this room are two small bathrooms, connected by a door between them. I'm laying in one of the beds when a boy walks into the dorm. I don't remember what happens soon after he enters, but he eventually makes his way to one of the ridiculously tall wardrobes. He trips and falls into the corner of the wardrobe, busting his head open. His body then shrivels into a little, beige, mummified corpse.



I immediately begin to panic. He has somehow died in here, so I'm worried people will think I'm a murderer. I get the idea to paint the body to make people think it's a statue. I paint it white with clown makeup on the face and a striped pattern on the body for the clothes. I'm not convinced this will work, though, as the body is laying down in a fetal position (not a normal pose for a clown statue!). I get my hands on paper mache and form a new shape for the body, this time making it stand in an animated position with both hands raised in the air. I paint it this time to look like one of the striped male cats in the musical CATS (I think this was influenced by the show Modern Family, as one of my favorite characters was dressed in a CATS costume in the episode I watched before bed). I end up hiding the statue in the shower so I don't have to keep looking at it.



Some time passes, and my roommates eventually come in (two girls from high school, CB and AH). I'm trying to play it cool, but CB mentions that a popular Youtuber is missing. I look online and see tons of videos posted by his friends about his disappearance. Apparently he was a big deal. CB goes into the bathroom and asks about the creepy statue. I tell her it was left by our door when I got here. She suggests that we go outside and bury it since it's so creepy. Score! An easy way to hide the body! I'm thrilled! Suddenly, I get an email notification on my phone. The university has called in an investigator to search for the boy. According to the email, the investigator is bringing a body-sniffing panther to check each room. Crap! Now I definitely need to get this body out of the room... but how?



I rationalize that burying the body outside would be bad, as the panther will obviously sniff out the body and university cameras will catch CB and I burying it. That would look very suspicious! I think about possibly breaking the body up, blending each piece, then pouring it down the drain, but this idea makes me feel queasy. I also think about dumping the body in a nearby river, but I worry that the water might loosen the plaster and cause the body to float to the surface and be found. I finally decide to try to hide the body in a basket on top of a wardrobe. I think that since the basket is so high up, maybe the panther won't be able to smell it. I lie and tell CB and AH that the statue scares me, so I'm going to put it above the wardrobe out of view so I can sleep. Since the wardrobes are so high up, I have to jump on a trampoline to reach the top. Unfortunately, as much as I tried, I just couldn't land on the top. Even worse, I kept landing hard on the ground, nearly cracking the plaster over the body! I give up and go to the bathroom. I lock myself in.



I'm in full panic mode at this point! I consider telling the truth to the police (after all, the boy's death had nothing to do with me!), but I must look very suspicious since I tampered with the body and lied to everyone. I think to myself that if I could flush the body down the toilet I'd be golden, as I can't imagine anyone would think to look for the body in the sewer. But how? I fiddle with the body and realize that it is easy to crumble and break. Even better, since the body is fully dried out and mummified, no nasty fluids come out. I'm about to start flushing the pieces of the body down the toilet when CB and AH pound on the bathroom door and ask me what I'm doing. I quickly pull down my pants and sit on the toilet, just in time for CB to barge in. I angrily yell out, "HEY! Can I pee!?" She laughs and tells me to ignore her while she explores the contents of the bathroom shelves, pleased that she upset me. I try to shield the body bits with my arm. I really need her to leave! Then I woke up!



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page