top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Marie: Achy Breaky Wedding


I am standing in a long line of mostly strangers – we are outside in a park with beautiful trees and lush grass. In my immediate group are Elizabeth, Michelle, and Otis. Everyone is dressed up for an occasion (such as church), but at this point, we’re just waiting in line and I don’t know why we’re here.


Anne joins us and I’m astounded by her attire. She has on a one-piece swim suit made mostly of strings of diamond rhinestones that are strategically placed for just enough decency to wear in public. The swim suit is very high cut on the legs, thong-style in the back, and she is also wearing stiletto-healed cowboy boots, silver, with green rhinestone cacti and yellow and orange wagon wheels on them. She has on long, silver gloves that extend to her elbows. She is also wearing false eyelashes that are extremely long and have tiny rhinestones on the ends of each lash. I realize at this point that this event is about her, but I’m still confused. She looks like a Las Vegas showgirl.


We are still standing and Michelle and Elizabeth are helping Anne with her hair because it’s tangled in her swimsuit straps in the front and back. Michelle remarked, “Weren’t you going to wear your pearl necklace today?” Emily grabbed at her throat, “Oh, I forgot to put it on,” she wailed. Elizabeth, very matter-of-factly told her she looks better without it because it would only detract attention from her beautiful dress.


In that instant, I realize we are attending Emily’s wedding. Achy Breaky heart begins playing and the line begins to move as people begin taking seats. Otis and I sit down in the front row because it is reserved for us. I turn around in my seat to see who is attending, and spy Michelle and Elizabeth sitting together a few rows back. They are busy wrapping plastic cutlery into paper towels and handing them to people sitting around them.


The music changes to something unrecognizable (country music) and Anne begins dancing her way down the aisle. Every one stands to watch her. She is doing jazz and hip hop moves. She has somehow affixed hot pink feathers to the back of her dress to cover her butt cheeks, but I’m worried that people will think her wedding dress is not appropriate. Her feathers are dropping out as she dances down the aisle. I woke up.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page