top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Elizabeth: Targaryland

I am with my husband on a trip and we have stopped at a familiar place. I have come to this stop several times over the last 20 years or so, and I am friends with the proprietress. The stop has grown to include several shops and attractions and a bed and breakfast. I am proud of my friend for creating such a booming business. She takes me to a little tearoom there and we sit down to catch up for a few minutes. It crosses my mind that my husband might be annoyed if he can't find me, but I step away anyway to visit.





Something about the conversation with my friend makes me uncomfortable. We haven't spoken for several years, and it's as if she wants to bring up past things we've talked about in a negative way. I tell her that it was nice talking to her, but I need to find my husband before he starts getting worried. I saunter away from her and catch my reflection in a tall mirror - I'm wearing a very gauzy white dress with a pinkish floral pattern. It's pretty and flowy, but a little too sheer as the sun shines through it.





I find Thomas talking to one of his brothers and I walk towards him. We are all walking towards the parking lot, but once I get to the parking lot I see that he is back by one of the buildings still talking - as if he had misdirected me towards the parking lot. After a few minutes I get on a bus, expecting that he's going to be joining me shortly, but the bus takes off and he's not there. The bus won't stop to let me off. I look around and I see that I am the only woman on the bus. I feel extremely uncomfortable and unsafe. I try to call Thomas but he doesn't answer his phone. My phone is almost out of battery and I start to panic.





We are driving in the bus through the country and I see some large, brick farmhouses well off the road. I understand that these are Targaryen houses belonging to middle class members of House Targaryen from Game of Thrones. We are in the United States in modern times, plus the Targaryen element. This area is called Targaryland. I am trying to figure out what landmarks are around so that if I get Thomas on the phone I can tell him where in the world I am. We don't pass many side streets, and the ones we pass have signs that are too small or blurry for me to read. We pass several filling stations and finally stop at one. I leap off the bus and try to call Thomas again to come and get me. A blonde haired man gets off the bus too and I know he's a Targaryen and that I'm in danger.





I think it should be easy to figure out the name of the filling station - but when I look up at the sign I see that it is written in High Valyrian and I didn't recognize several of the letters - oh no!







6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page