top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Elizabeth: Snippets

(The past few nights I have had extremely vivid dreams. Sometimes I remember to jot a few notes down about each one. If I don't write them right away I usually forget them, so I am writing a few memories here.)





I see Bernie Sanders shopping in Lexington. I speak to him just to tell him how much I admire him and hope to see the changes he believes in. He remembers, somehow, the county I teach in. He tells me, in a hushed voice, that the county will receive an "A Rating" in the primary election. I take that to mean that he has insider polling information that they will vote for progressive candidates in the primary. He says, "See you in 2024," which disappoints me because I was secretly hoping he'd figure out how to get in for 2020.





I have to return to school to finish my senior year. I'm not sure if it's college or high school. I have a lot of classes and I start to cry when I look at my schedule and see that I have to take an advanced algebra class. I'm trying to find room 616. I'm told it's in the new part of the school and I have to find a certain elevator to reach it. I get on an escalator, but it goes to a landing with nothing on it. I ride back down and find the elevator. I get on it with a coworker, but the door doesn't shut as it goes up. It tilts outward towards the open door and I help my friend hold on. We reach the top floor and she is able to get off. I start to get off and the doors shut, trapping me inside. I see that there is no ceiling and I climb out over the ceiling and crawl over the elevator, shaft, and elevator casing to exit, hoping that the elevator won't drop and sent me hurdling down or crush me.





I am in a school swimming pool with Michelle and another girl. Michelle is showing off a new swimsuit. It's like a long-sleeved black velvet leotard. It looks really good on her and she loves it. She pushes a button and it starts to light up along the cuffs, neckline, and waist, even under water. It's so cool. I was a little sad though. I had given her a cute floral swimsuit and had been excited for her to wear it, but of course she had chosen this awesome light up swimsuit.



I am taking some students home after graduation. I am with a favorite student, AP, and she asks to stop by a house she used to live in. We get out of the car and see that the house has been destroyed. It's a stone house with only the walls left. It's built into the side of a rocky outcropping. A doorway leads to an underground portion and I walk through. I realize that it is an underground movie theater and it has a cool marquee where the movies would be listed and an art deco type ticket sale booth. There is a piano in the corner that has been a little water damaged. It is decorated with carvings of the devil and I know it has something to do with him. I don't try to play it.



I am on the phone trying to order a breakfast pizza but I keep getting the wrong number. My husband is waiting impatiently for me to get the pizza. He finally gets fed up, drives up next to me, throws a packet of unpopped popcorn in my window, angrily yells, "Here's your breakfast!", and speeds away. I'm so sorry to have been unable to perform my assigned task and my feelings are hurt.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page