top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Elizabeth: Nickel Eyes

The dream begins in a home that I understand to be my own house. It's much larger than my life house, and in a larger town, but of a similar age and vibe. The house is in worse shape though, and several upstairs rooms are more dilapidated. The front door frame is very ornate, but the wood is a little rotten and has been painted several times.



My Great Aunt initiates a change of ownership, but she isn't able to complete it because I own the house and not her. She is trying to give the house to her eldest son because he wants to spend all of his money fixing it up. I reached a compromise with him and decided he would be the owner of the foyer with the rotten door. "Here! I'll help you scrape this old paint off!" I say and I start scraping off chunks of paint and rotten wood. It seems like a good deal to me - he owns enough to want to spend his money on the place, but I still really own the house.



Later that day I am in the house and I have a visitor. I open the door and it's actual Lucifer, the Devil. He looks really goth and reminds me of Nandor from What We Do In The Shadows. He's kind of cute and flirty, but I'm also scared of him because he's Satan. He asks to see the house and I start giving him a tour. Upstairs he gets to a room and he seems repelled by the doorway. It's like a vampire not being able to enter a house he's not been invited to. He points to a plaque on the wall which has some historical information on that part of the house. Apparently, he had been able to freely enter the rest of the house because it hadn't been lived in for so long, but this part was different because it had a special designation as a place of human historical significance. I don't want to be rude, but I would rather not invite him in to that part of the room so I have a safe place to get away from him if need be. I am brainstorming ways to politely continue with the tour without inviting him into that room.



I jump to being at school in my old classroom at my first posting. We have just gone over a new unit and typed up our story with the new vocabulary. The unit seems to be based on the house experience which was the first part of the dream. I am working with the students in the back of the room and a woman walks in. She's the mother of one of my female students and I can see that she's upset about something. The vibe I get is that she's angry that we read a story about Satan. I can tell that she doesn't really know what the story was about - and that our "story about Satan" was the Devil going on a tour of a historical home, not him doing devil stuff. I tell her that I will print out a copy of the story for her and let her look at the unit, and she's happy with that solution. Unfortunately, I can't find a copy of the story in my Google Docs. I look for a copy of the unit and I can't find that either. I switch from my laptop to my school PC and can't find either file there. I am trying to figure out how to get on the curriculum facebook group to figure out which unit it's from. I'm really stressed about trying to keep the kids occupied, trying to keep this angry parent happy, and trying desperately to find these files.



On my lunch break, I have to run home to grab a bite to eat, but I bring my laptop so I can continue hunting for the files. My husband is there and we (weirdly quickly) discover a hidden staircase behind a previously sealed door. The door opens up like a garage door instead of at the side. I am holding the door up for him while he steps into the staircase with a flashlight. "Listen, honey, I've got to scarf down some lunch and get back to looking for this file. And there are lead paint chips falling everywhere that I don't think we should be breathing in. Let's do this later!" He acquiesces and leaves the house for a while.



I am upstairs in a room that has a couple holes in the floor. I have a series of thoughts that gets this dream moving in the WRONG direction. "I wonder if there are ghosts in this house? I hope there aren't any ghosts! If there were ghosts, I would be able to see them moving around downstairs through the holes in the floor. They would be able to get into this protected room through the holes. There could be ghosts all over the place."



Then, obviously, there were ghosts all over the place. They weren't threatening me, they were just there and I didn't know how they were going to behave. In total there were maybe 12-15 ghosts milling about the place. They seemed like normal people just walking around, looking at the house, and visiting with one another. They didn't seem like they were from any particular time period. There were both men and women, a variety of ethnicities, and ages ranging from 2-50 or so. I start to say to them, "You're going to have to go. Out. Now. Leave. Out! Out!" I am shooing people towards the front door, trying to herd them like a sheep dog out of the rooms and closing the doors behind me. Two year old identical twin girls are sitting on the bed together. They look angelic with halos of white curls and beautiful, large blue eyes. The ghosts are kind of looking at me to see if I'll kick out these gorgeous little kids too. "I'm sorry guys, you too, you've got to go. Somebody please help the little kids out." The ghosts roll their eyes at me and help the kids off the bed. I feel this ice water feeling run down by back and I know it's a teenage boy misbehaving ghost messing with me. "No, none of that, out!"



I get out the front door and all the ghosts are milling around in the front yard and porch. I think it's convenient that I was able to drive them out like this, and I hope that this will keep them out. I've never seen a ghost movie where it was this easy though, so I'm feeling skeptical. I want to get to know the ghosts a little bit better - they really seem like normal people that are attending a function that has moved location. I have a little tin of marbled paint - it's the same stuff the teenager ghost had poured down by back to scare me. I think I'm going to be funny and make friends by doing this - his back is to me and I whisper in his ear "Don't be mad!" and I pour the paint all over his head. He is enraged and opens his mouth up in the too-big scary way. He runs around behind me and latches on to the back of my head with his giant mouth and puts his paint covered arms around me tightly. "Woah, Woah, Woah! Dude! Don't!" I hear the other ghosts all exclaim as if they're shouting at somebody acting out of line at a party. They pull him off of me. "What was he doing?" I ask. "Umm... well, it's a little bit like eating something and putting it into your own body, only, you know, more." "Oh geez! Well, I guess he didn't think the paint thing was funny!"



I was a little annoyed that he thought he could scarily pour ice paint down my back to terrorize me, but he couldn't take a little joke. But, I guess since he's a demonic poltergeist spirit it would make sense that he wouldn't behave within the normal parameters of party behavior. I turn to him and see that he's completely coated in the paint from head to toe, still marbled shades of blue and yellow and not mixed like you would imagine would happen in a scuffle. The only thing not covered in paint are his eyes. They gleam silver for a moment and somebody shouts, "Uh-Oh! He's got Nickel Eyes! Watch out!" and they tackle him to the ground.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page