top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Elizabeth: Do Over

As the dream opens I am in my grandmother's house to drop something off to her. I see her in the corner of the big room sitting in the corner, but I immediately remember that I'm not supposed to be in there because of social distancing. If my cousin JS, who is in lockdown with her taking care of her, finds out that I went in the house, she'll be furious! I get out as quick as I can and I see some of my other cousins standing around. I act normal and look everybody over and I notice that my cousin RW is a lot shorter than she was the last time I saw her. In fact, not only is she shorter, she's younger.

The obvious answer dawns on me: we've somehow gone back in time. I feel too embarrassed to ask everybody if we've gone back in time, or what year it is, so I try to ask questions that might tell me the year. I ask JS's husband MD what was the most recent iphone that came out. He answers it was the iphone LGE. I remember that I don't have an iphone and don't know the different phones or when they came out. I try to ask some weird question about Thanksgiving, adding, "and what year?" but I realize that that's basically like asking what year it is.

I switch to being a student in a classroom. It's a third or fourth grade room and the teacher is going over something on the board. I answer a question, of course getting it right and answering eloquently, and everyone is impressed with how well spoken and intelligent I am. My mind is the same as it is now, but life has wound back to the fourth grade. I think I would be able to somehow explain it all and resume life as I knew it, but I start to think about just going with it. I would be the smartest kid in the school, and my teachers would all like me because I'm old enough in the mind to be aware of myself and others. I vaguely think about the kind of life I could make for myself under these circumstances, and I'm ready to do it.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page