top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Anne: Your Mission Isn't Over, Kid

<Robert and I have been binge watching Homeland the last few weeks. This dream had much overlap with the episode we watched before bed.>


I am in charge of a theater production at school. I am out of college though because a guy I'm working with informs me that he too was a graduate from Morehead. He says he majored in biochemistry. His name is Kacey and he looks similar to KJ Apa minus the red hair.


We are working on a movie together and the head of the production is a famous director who specializes in sound effects. The director strongly resembles Haqqani from Homeland.


Kacey, a woman with brown hair in pigtails, and a boy from my high school IF are at a lake working on the film. Kacey is playing a man on a boat who is afraid of water and falls overboard. I keep diving in the water to impress my peers and show them how dedicated I am to getting "the shot." We head back to the studio and I feel gross from the lake water. I tell my group that I'm going to take a shower. Kacey decides to stay in one of the common areas and go over his lines while IF and the other girl go into a sound room to begin editing. The shower is in between these two rooms, out in the open with a sheer white shower curtain. I'm worried that Kacey will walk in on me, so I decide to shower in my clothes.


I hear Kacey on the phone and my phone begins to ring. It is Michelle and she tells me that the school board is after me. I need to get out ASAP. Kacey comes running in and tells me we need to leave. The director gives us orders to blend in with the crowd. We leave the theater and see a large crowd of students headed on a field trip. IF and the brunette also join us. Among the others in the crowd, a girl I danced with, MR, and two people from my high school, LK and PS, stand out. We are going to a medieval fair that's actually a wedding. IF tells me to sit with him on the bus because he has to protect me. Chaperones herd us like cattle.


Jay Manuel from America's Next Top Model is in charge of this whole event. He is holding signs with arrows that say "bridal shower." He tells us to work it while we pass him. One by one they call us to go through a gate by a shaded passage to pick up a card with an orange envelope, a slice of cake, and a ticket. We need these three things to enter. They call our names over a loud speaker alphabetically. The passage is lined by a fence with people on either side clapping as you go through. I'm worried it's a catwalk and Jay is making us model for him. They call Michelle's name first and then mine. The lady on the loud speaker says "it seems we don't have the required items for you." I become nervous because I'm afraid that whoever is after me knows where I am and are going to capture me.


The runway leads to a room that resembles a school cafeteria. There is a podium in the corner where one of my the PTA mom's from my high school, CA, is speaking. I run to her and tell her I need the items. She says they have run out and are trying to get them in as quickly as possible. A crowd emerges in anger because there are mess-ups with tickets and seating arrangements. Michelle is mad because she has to sit next to "lil baby" and "diamond." I use this moment to my advantage and sneak into one of the rooms adjacent to the cafeteria.


The walls of the room are lined with greeting cards and orange envelopes, similar to the shelves of a Hallmark. Saul Berenson, a character from Homeland, scuttles in and asks if I'm okay. He tells me my mission isn't over but he's trying to come up with an extraction plan. Someone from our group is a mole and has told the people trying to capture me about my mission and my location. Saul tells me to trust no one, especially Kacey.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page