top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Anne: Us and Them

I am in the middle of a pandemic. The virus turns people into something more along the lines of The Crazies. They can bite you, if they want, but they do have a desire to kill. I'm not sure how I can tell who is infected or not, but I am the only one in the group who is capable of doing so. My group consists of Robert, who looks like Arnold from Hey Arnold! for some reason, the owner of the company where I work, JE, who looks like Harry Styles, a middle-aged blond woman, a guy from my high school PS, and another group of brunette young men. I am the only person in this group who is not a med student (just as annoying as it sounds by the way).


We have been traveling a long time and stop by a health department. JE needs to speak with the health director. He is the leader of our group (very fitting for his personality). We are taken into a building with windows on all sides. It seems almost like a lookout station. The building has vending machines and a stair case that leads to multiple bedrooms. I am amazed that drinks in this vending machine are only 85 cents! I get a water and a mountain dew for Robert and I to share. I see vast farmland out the window and paths leading to the city. This place seems so safe. I whisper to Robert that he needs to convince JE to keep us here. (Robert now looks like his normal self) Robert says he'll try his hardest, but JE is so hard to convince to do anything (again, fitting).

As JE returns, I see many people shuffling out of the building and along the stone path. Just outside is a stone cottage where JE is going to be staying. Apparently, everyone is attending some kind of lecture. I am uneasy for some reason and ask JE if I can stay at this facility while they go to lecture since I'm not in med school anyway. JE agrees but tells me to wait in his cottage for the time being. I kiss Robert goodbye and tell him to be safe.

As I am leaving the facility, I see people who are doppelgangers of the people in my group. They are all carrying weapons. I know these people are infected and are going to wait to kill my group members. None of them look like me which is a relief. I know this to be because I can tell who is infected and am immune to this virus. I sprint down this path to JE and tell him we need to leave immediately! He blows me off and tells me to wait in the cottage. I tell him what is going on and that we were lured here for this reason. We are part of some experiment. His doppelganger is in the cottage, so it is not safe since I don't have any weapons. The doppelgangers are heavily armed. Most of them have long swords (???).

JE tells me that the important people need to attend a lecture and that I just need to wait in his cottage until it's over. I get really frustrated and tell Robert what's happening. He sneaks off with me to the cottage where we peer into the window. Robert tells me that he'll go in and take care of the doppelganger JE and keep watch while I rest in the cabin. I force us to do it together because I cant' get infected if the doppelganger bites me, but Robert can.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page