top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Anne: One is the Loneliest Number

I'm going on a trip with Robert, Michelle, Michelle's boyfriend, and another man whom I've never met. We're going to a place called "Cale." For some reason Robert decides to ride with Michelle and the rest of the crew while I drive myself. I'm frustrated because it is a five hour trip and he is leaving me to do it all on my own. I try finding the place on my GPS but there are about five other places in the vicinity called "Cale." Annoyed, I ask Robert which one it is. He isn't really paying attention and says, "Oh sorry, did you need something?" He ponders a second and then figures out what I asked. He hands me a silver, plastic card with "Cale" written in cream letters. The bottom has pink writing, but it is far too small for me to figure out. Robert insists I just follow them and if I get lost, I can just figure it out. I become increasingly annoyed.


I soon realize I need gas. I pull into a gas station that has a Dunkin' Donuts in it. I decide I deserve to treat myself considering I have no idea where I'm going and am completely by my lonesome. I see a car pull up and it is Michelle and friends. Robert is in the passenger's seat and tells me that he feels bad so he got me some Dunkin'. I think to myself that this really doesn't make up for everything, but it's a start. He hands me a large drink and it's just sprite!!


I know his gesture is not meant in a sweet manner, considering he knows that I would never go to Dunkin' and NOT get a coffee. I tell him that Sprite doesn't even have caffeine in it, so why would I even need this. He laughs and high-fives Michelle as if this is some kind of prank. The group drives off quickly, leaving me to fend for myself.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page