top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Anne: Mommy Dearest

My dream starts with me at my parents' house getting ready for a date with Robert. I pick out an outfit with medium wash boot-cut jeans (super attractive!) and a black V-neck sweater. Marie comes in and looks at me in disgust. I ask her what that face is for.

"You're wearing that?" she remarks.

I nod in confusion and she rolls her eyes.

"You look really slutty. I'm not going to let you out looking like this. I don't really trust you going out with this boy."

I am angry and confused because I have been on plenty of dates with Robert, whom she knows quite well, and she never says anything about my attire until now. I tell her that I'm just wearing jeans and a sweater. She pulls a pair of khaki paper bag pants (I own a pair of these in real life for work).

I think they're okay but not for a date night setting. Plus, she is missing the point.


I ask her why I can't wear jeans because Robert and I are seeing a movie and khakis seems really formal. She says that if I wear jeans and a sweater that he'll think I'm a whore and not treat me well. I get very angry because Robert always respects me and would never think that. I storm off to Otis and tell him that Marie won't let me wear jeans on my date. He looks to Marie and says "come on, Marie," in a patronizing tone. Marie says jeans are not good to wear in public. I tell her I'm going to wear them anyway because she can't tell me what to do. Marie says that if I hate it so much I can just leave. I tell her that I don't need to stay here since I have my own place anyway so I'm just going to go.

 

I woke up after that. Thankfully Marie and I do not have these kinds of interactions in real life!




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page