top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Anne: Late Night Zombie Games

< Zombies are a routine theme in my dreams. Usually they take place in a nightmare of some sort. In these nightmares, I am accustomed to acknowledge that I am dreaming and surrender. However, this dream was different. I wouldn't consider this dream a nightmare. >

 

Michelle, my high school graduating class, and I are on a field trip to a mall. The mall is completely deserted and when we enter, there are more people in our age group. We walk into the mall and the inside resembles the waiting area of Texas Roadhouse (not sure why the scenery in my dreams always has a Texas Roadhouse vibe). The gates to the main part are up so we can't see beyond the plaza area. A man who looks exactly like Major Payne (yes, the movie) comes up and hands all of us giant backpacks with red balls similar to those in a ball pit that attach to our necks. One guy in a teal bath robe and purple hat has a blue, clear, plastic conch instead of a red ball. The guy handing out the backpacks hands me a tie dye shirt and says that I am not allowed to wear black because players won't be able to see me as well. He tells us the rules of a game we are playing. We must find the check point and escape the mall. Some of us are "zombies" and are trying to get the red balls around our necks. If they catch the ball, either we become zombies or we can pay $1.00 to get the ball back. I sneeze on the man and a group of men dressed as soldiers grab some money out of my wallet.

The gates open and we all scatter. The mall is full of obstacles such as tables and chairs and GIANT potted plants. People are getting their balls taken and walk back to the plaza. I avoid several people and come to a carousel thing. The carousel is one of those at amusement parks that have chairs that fly up and spin. This one had dachshund shapes chairs instead of regular ones. I to climb it and get over to the other side. A guy reaches up and taps my arm and says "I caught you. You have to pay me $1.00." I tell him that he has to get the red ball. He informs me that that's not what the rule dictate. I try to argue but give up and hand him a $30 bill (these exist in my dream apparently). I ask for change but he tells me he doesn't have any. I inform him that I will walk back and get my wallet. Rudely he bluntly replies "um yeah." I turn around and tell him he's extremely rude and that I do not appreciate him talking to me like that (this sounds exactly like something I would do).

A boy from my class comes over and asks if I'm okay. He yells at the rude boy. We walk back together and I see Michelle sitting at a kiosk still with a red ball around her neck. I charge at her since I'm technically a zombie and she tells me to stop. She and another boy from my class have ice packs on their faces. Michelle's nose is swollen and purple. She tells me that the two collided when they were running. The guy with the conch shell comes up and laughs at her.

 

< Overall, I would play this game in real life. My friends and I used to play infection tag-style games all of the time. My competitive nature really showed in this dream; however, I do not think I would just give up so easily to a boy who was that rude to me. I was definitely surprised to wake up from a dream involving zombies contently even though these were not typical zombies. >

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page