top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Anne: I'm a "Looser"

This was a literal fever dream after my COVID vaccine and it shows. I had work this morning and there was definitely some carry over from that as well.

 

I am in Italy with Robert, a high school friend BC, my best friend Alexis, and some other guy whom I do not know. I am in charge of completing missions to collect items and bring them to guests at this very nice hotel. The interior of the hotel looks antique but still beautiful. There are marble floors and beautiful roman columns. There is a large chandelier in lobby of the hotel creating warm tones throughout the building. The middle of the lobby has a large pond where guests can swim.

At the front desk, I am given my first task. I am to collect fragments of the Sistine Chapel ceiling (this feels very National Treasure to me) and put them in a jar. I have to be discrete or else the guests will see me and it ruins the surprise. I walk through a forest to get to the Sistine Chapel and BC is telling me about the trees. While intrigued, I know that I must hurry. She gives me advice on how to collect the fragments and hands me a small pair of tweezers.

I approach the ceiling and see many tourists. I try to climb the rafters and manage to scrape off just a few fragments. I climb down before anyone sees and rush back to the hotel. Robert is in the pond with several other guests. I see a diving board looking item and think it's the best way to get in without causing a scene. I jump from the diving board thing and know that I make a huge splash! Self conscious, I ask Robert if he thought people would notice. He tells me I made a small splash and that nobody saw (total lie but I appreciate the sweetness!). I begin logging my fragments into a book calling this hotel Berkeley 2 (a site from my workplace). I worry that the CEO of our company will not like that I didn't get enough fragments.

I see Alexis in at a convenience mart by the front desk. I'm so excited to see her! She is dressed like Toucan Sam, the Froot Loops mascot and carrying a wooden sign that says "I'm a Looser" in Froot Loops font (I guess it's supposed to be a pun). I try to console her and tell her she is definitely not a loser! I tell her she's more successful than anyone from our grade. Michelle runs up as well and hands Alexis a little box of Froot Loops and says it's a reminder that Toucan Sam is successful and so is she???




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page