top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Anne: Fight to the Death

I am at a cheerleading competition with my high school cheerleading squad. The competition is being held outdoors. There are bleachers filled with many people. On lookers view a ground covered with dirt. There is a blue mat that overtakes the majority of the ground. There are mats along the side to practice stunts. I understand myself to be the age I'm at now. One of my teammates, EP, informs me that I am to do mainly standing back tucks for the routine and we go on in 15 minutes. Worried, considering I haven't done any sort of tumbling in who knows how long, I ask her if I should even compete. After all, I don't even know the choreography. Everyone is annoyed with me. Suddenly the ground quakes and a monster shaped similar to a Russian nesting doll emerges from the ground.


I know this monster to be Marie (Sorry, Marie, I promise I don't view you like this creature). The monster has a parrot's beak for a mouth and long, whispy brown hair. The monster waddles over to the audience and takes a person in its hand. The monster squeezes the person to death. I know I must kill the creature, but am conflicted seeing as its my own mother. I am handed a sword and shield (think Gladiator style). I run towards the monster leaping over a large trench and stab it in the eye. Monster Marie screams and tells me I am horrible to doing this to my own mother. I stab the monster in the heart and it falls lifeless. The audience applauds.

Apparently, now that I've defeated the monster, I am to go through trials to prove my worth. I'm not sure what my next task is, but I understand it to be fighting something. I am allowed no help in these tasks and have to think quickly. The daylight ends and I am walking to an apartment that looks like it belongs in 1930s London. Jake Paul who now goes by "The Wolf" comes to me and tells me he can help me but we must do so in secret or the consequences could be dire.


He runs on all fours (like a wolf??) and leads me to a trailer. The trailer has stairs leading to a basement that is filled with books. It reminds me of the public library basement where my sister and I would get Goosebumps books. An African American man tells me where to look. I pass a section filled with cookbooks. I think to myself that Michelle would love these as Christmas presents. I also see Studio Ghibli buttons that she would also like. The man becomes annoyed with me and tells me to focus.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page