top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Anne: A Wedding For The Ages

Let me start this by emphasizing that this was definitely a melatonin induced dream. I had a lot of issues falling asleep last night and felt bad for tossing and turning the whole time since my boyfriend had to be up at 6:00. So naturally, I took the extra strength melatonin and oh, man, did it show.

 

Finally! It's the day of Michelle's wedding. Right away the day seems a bit chaotic. The ceremony is taking place at the theater of the local community college. The stage is covered in marley flooring for some reason. I guess she wants to put on a show. I see her soon to be husband and give him a glare. I am not fond of him. He is unnamed in this dream but he looks exactly like Cole LaBrant a guy who is famous from vine, for those who don't know.

He is standing with his groomsmen by the stairs leading to the stage. There is a wooden gazebo at the bottom left-stage in which we're supposed to be getting ready. The groomsmen are a strange bunch. I'm walking out with a guy I went to high school with, BC. The other two are a boy with short brown hair whose face I can't remember and another blonde boy. The bridesmaids are even weirder. I am the maid of honor, but for some reason I am shocked at this. The other two are girls from my high school, CB and BC [I'll call her LC to avoid confusion].

We are wearing long, lavender-colored dresses that resemble Roman goddesses (I might steal this idea for myself when the time comes). The men are in tuxedos. The decorations are classy, made with white roses and accents of real lavender from what I can see. There is a tall blonde woman about my age that is sitting in the row of seats directly behind the gazebo. Her hair is mid-length and curled. She has on a black lacey dress and bright red lipstick. I get an uneasy feeling about her but try to ignore it.

The ceremony begins and a lady tries to corral us together. We do a weird dance down the aisle that involves us being twirled by the men and going through each other's arms. I do not know the choreography and am looking to BC for guidance, but he is not helpful. The lady pushes us to the side and a group of small girls no more than 5-years old come out in tutus. CB gets up and tries to help them with the choreography. The next set of dancers are teenagers led by LC. They do a hip-hop/jazz number wearing yellow frilly dresses similar to those of flappers. The choreography is really strange with a mixture of hip-hop moves and jazz hands. The small dancers leave and a group of elite dancers come out in pointe shoes and stand on opposite sides forming an aisle that Michelle is going to walk down.


Michelle runs out of the wings and slides on her knees down the aisle very dramatically. Cole LaBrant man lifts her up as she is in an arabesque. They do a variation of Swan Lake that seems awkward but I am being supportive. They have the bridal party sitting in the first row of seats watching. Elizabeth tells me she has to go because an old high school friend JN is taking care of her animals and has fallen. She is worried she might be dead (Elizabeth is the wedding planner and is not a part of the wedding apparently).

The curtains falls and it is intermission. I get up to get a drink from the concession stand and get phoned in for work. I have 30 minutes until the wedding, so I reluctantly agree to go in. They need me to do acid-fast staining (which essentially is just a type of bacterial staining to ID bacteria that can't Gram stain well). My boss is a store manager I worked with at my retail job a few times in a different store, JS. JS shows me all the tissue specimens I need to analyze. I see a toe (probably a nightmare from the tissue specimen I got in real-life the other day) and a whole human head that is missing most features except closed eyes. There is a note by the head that says "Ric." I begin the process but am interrupted by a woman whose husband is apparently "Ric." She is unaware that he is nothing but a head now.

I try to hurry and decide to stop by Dunkin' to get drinks for the bridal party. I ask for two peppermint hot chocolates (I guess we're all sharing?). The lady hands me two cups and one is completely empty. I storm into the back room somehow and demand that she fill my cup. This girl is a teenager and her name is Sylvia. She says she filled them but maybe one of the workers drank it before she got it to me. I apologize and she gives me three extra coffees (such a steal!).

I head back into the auditorium careful not to spill the drinks. I see Cole LaBrant man talking to the tall blonde girl. She kisses him and apologizes but he starts slow dancing with her and kisses her back! The whole auditorium starts booing him. I am worried Michelle is around and might have seen this. I walk through the wings trying to find her. There are dancers preparing to go out but no of them has seen her either. I run out the emergency exit to a cobble street near a not-so nice neighborhood. BC and the other groomsmen follow me so I don't get hurt in this sketchy area. One of them points to someone doing skateboard tricks. It's Michelle! She's still in her wedding dress but she has on elbow/knee pads and a bright red helmet.

The groomsmen and I are trying to find a way to break it to her about Cole LaBrant man and why she shouldn't follow through marrying him. She shows us a kick-flip. We try to keep her attention but she is not having it. Finally she stops and explains to us that he didn't bother learning the choreography so she doesn't want to marry him anymore. Instead, she's going to learn to skateboard and marry someone like Tony Hawk!



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page