top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Anne: A "Stick"-y Situation

Robert finally decides where we're moving. He decides on South Charleston, WV (convenient for me but why would he want to live there?). He is interviewing for med school so I decide I want to go exploring. I find some new restaurants and agree to stop by my parents' house which is being remodeled (I guess they live in South Charleston now). I meet up with Michelle in what I'm assuming is our parents' house. It is a huge brick building, not tall enough to be a skyscraper, but close. There is a lobby as you walk in with an elevator that leads to the top. We both decide we want to look at the basement first.

The basement is uninviting. There are fluorescent lights lining the hallway. It looks like an old school building. The lights flicker periodically. The floor seems abandoned. I tell Michelle we should probably go back up. We hear a stick hitting the floor. I grab Michelle by the wrist and drag her into what looks like the library from our high school. All the lights are off. I know that Stick (from Daredevil) is approaching.

In this dream, however, he is a villain. He's blind in the show and the same holds true in my dream universe. He is special in that he can hear everything around him. I tell Michelle we can't move or make any sounds whatsoever. I tell her to hold her breath because he can hear our heartbeats (they still beat even holding our breath so not sure why I thought this made sense). I hear him getting closer and know that he can sense us. I tell her we need to go through the vents as quickly as possible. I shut the door quickly and lock it to buy us time. We crawl through a vent in the wall and end up on a higher up floor.

This floor is an endless maze of rooms. We walk through one that has six doors which lead to other various rooms and hallways. I feel a little safer knowing we have so many places to hide. The rooms have white walls with dark brown woodwork. The floors are a carpeted green. The walls are bare and few rooms have furniture. Yet, I know this to be my parents' house and find it strange that there is no furniture. Michelle and I remark that this would be Marie's dream home without furniture for the pets and Otis to ruin. We end up in a kitchenette that resembles the one from Forest Dunes at Myrtle Beach.

Robert is there with Otis, complementing the renovated kitchen. I whisper to Michelle that this must have been Otis's idea since Marie doesn't want to move to Myrtle Beach. We both agree that it was definitely the only fair compromise. The balcony overlooks a large parking lot with some taller buildings next door. Robert and I are worried that Tillie will escape off the balcony. And she does! We run after her but she leaps off the balcony. Otis seems less concerned but Robert and I are worried. She is trotting off, chasing some smaller creatures. Michelle says she'll run after her, but I tell her Stick will get her. So stressful!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page