top of page
  • Sleep Cinema

Michelle: A Handful of Teeth

Updated: Jan 24, 2020

<Like most people, I am not a stranger to the classic nightmare of having a tooth or two spontaneously fall out. This dream, however, took this idea to the extreme! As soon as I woke up, I frantically touched all of my teeth to make sure I wasn't actually doomed to eat liquid foods for the rest of my life!>


 

I was at a school (I understood it to be my school) and I was walking around waiting for my family to meet me in the parking lot to watch a school play. Three of my teeth felt loose: my right eye tooth, the middle tooth on the bottom, and a left molar. As I walked around, waiting, my teeth began to feel looser and looser. I kept wiggling the eye tooth, since it was bothering me so much, until it popped out into my hand. I immediately rushed to the bathroom and stared at the new gap in my mouth, horrified. I put the tooth in my pocket and told myself that some people have a layer of teeth to replace their adult teeth to justify why mine must have fallen out. I started to pace laps around the school to calm myself down. People waiting outside for the play kept giving me strange, nervous glances (probably due to my frantic pacing), which made me feel self-conscious. I stuck my hands in my pockets to act more natural, but when I did that the tooth fell out of my pocket and rolled into a pile of gravel. I frantically searched the pile for my tooth but kept picking up rocks. I picked up a large tooth but realized it was not mine and got disgusted. However, I considered keeping it in case the dentist needed to implant a tooth (I kept thinking that I did NOT want a clip-on tooth). People kept shooting me frightened glances (probably due to me being huddled over and rummaging through a pile of rocks), and I was much too embarrassed to ask anyone to help me find my tooth, so I straightened up and again tried to act natural.


Suddenly, it felt like there was an unattached tooth in my mouth. I somehow convinced myself that maybe the eye tooth hadn't come out and that THIS tooth must be it! I rushed back into the school bathroom and spit out the tooth in the sink. Unfortunately, it was my left molar that had been loose. As I looked in the mirror, I noticed my gums start to bleed around the edges of all of my teeth, and they all began to feel loose. As I touched them, several just fell out. To my horror, their roots were grey and decayed-looking. Some of my teeth began to slump out of place, still connected to my gums but only by extended, rotten-looking roots. I tried to make a smile, but there were not enough teeth in my mouth to do this anymore! My smile looked like a black, gummy hole with maybe 4 or so teeth slumping out of place. At this point I was just holding a pile of my teeth in my hands, so I was worried about dropping them. I took off a hat I was wearing (it was the woven hat shaped like a zebra that I own in real-life) and placed all of my fallen teeth inside, gripping the top tightly together in order to keep all of the teeth safely inside. I tried to position the remaining teeth in my mouth back in place, then I clamped my mouth down to provide pressure to secure them. Keeping my mouth clamped tight, I ran back outside to wait on my family.


It started to rain. Everyone had brought lawn chairs and blankets to watch the play, but since my family hadn't arrived yet I just sat on the wet ground in a parking space near the back. People kept shooting me weird glances, but I tried to ignore them. Finally, my parents' car pulled up. When they got out, they kept loudly asking me what was wrong and why I was sitting in the back away from everyone. I gripped my hat and tried to say that something was wrong with my teeth, but as soon as I relaxed the pressure on my teeth I could feel the remaining ones start to loosen. I started to panic then suddenly woke up!


<As soon as I woke up, I immediately touched all of my teeth to confirm they were still there! What a HORRIBLE dream! The wave of relief that washed over me after finding all of my teeth securely in place is indescribable.>



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page